The Pine Cone

Christians at the Cross – Chapter 7/8 Reflection

Mary’s grief losing her friend, her teacher and her hope. An unexpected encounter in the garden.

Read Isaiah 65:17-25 and John 20:1-18

 

Broken, disappointed and shattered beyond belief

Who wouldn’t thought we’d be left with all this grief?

 

All of the hope and the trust is now gone.

Is this something that we should’ve sawn?

 

What looked so promising has left us in pieces.

How could you let this happen Jesus?

 

We investing in it all and now feel the burn,

Where do we go? Where can we turn?

 

It’s not as simple to go back before we met,

Our lives have been changed and we thought we were set.

 

I guess we’ll just take things a day at a time.

Hoping that someday we’ll get back to our prime.

 

We know that things will be different from here

But still I just wish I had you in my boat to steer.

 

To the right or to the left, where do I go?

Without you here to lead I just don’t know.

 

Your presence is gone but still I want to visit

Hold onto the memories but oh wait, what is it?

 

The tomb is empty there’s no one to be found,

I can’t take any more hurt I mumble to the ground.

 

Do you know how pine trees like this get so big?

Says a voice from behind me as I sniffle like a pig.

 

The only way the seeds are released is if the cone goes through fire,

it’s creases are opened when times are dire.

 

The seed endures burning before it even begins

Just like you who were born into sin.

 

But don’t worry my child, it is all finished.

See I am here to say the enemy is diminished.

 

Jesus it is you! My heart is so glad!

I thought I’d never see you again and was oh so sad!

 

I was making a way, making room for the new,

And I was doing it all while thinking of you.

 

You will have troubles and be tempted to give up hope.

But keep your eyes up, you can’t see the whole scope.

 

Someday in the new earth where we’ll be,

My people will live as long as the trees.

 

So next time you’re down take this pine cone in your hand,

And remember the burning it goes through before it’s planted in the sand.

 

Look up to the top, think of all the growth

There was sunshine and rain, it had to have both.

 

I have come to encourage, forgive, and to heal

And I’ll leave you with someone who is my promised seal.

 

I’m starting with you so you know I am for you.

I’m starting with you so you know I adore you.

 

Before you go running to tell all the others,

Sit for a minute and share with me your troubles.

 

Once you are ready and your tears are all dried

Go tell the others how the pine cone is fried

 

“Take heart, He has overcome the world!” you could say

“He is making us new, He is making a way!”

 

“Making beauty of ashes, we can trade it all in!”

“The shame and the anger and all of the sin!”

 

“This is just the beginning, let us feast, have a party!”

“Hurry come to see Him, you don’t want to be tardy.”

 

Start with yourself, bring all of your baggage.

Then take a friend who is beat down and ragged.

 

Show them the pine cone, tell them your story.

However you do it give God all the glory.

 

Sing of His mercy, goodness, and love

Sing it until you join Him with the doves

 

He is making things new, keep your eyes open to see

What he can do with this world and with you and me.

brown pinecone on snow field

Photo by Todd Trapani on Pexels.com

Leave a comment